Workshop on Experimental and Behavioral (WEB) Economics // Prof. Kristian Lopez Vargas

Econ 276

Announcements: Spring 2017. Meets Wednesdays 10:40-11:50am in 499 E2.

Readings on Experimetrics below, from Berlin reading group.

For general background in laboratory experiments, see the undergrad class website for Econ 165. Have a look at the syllabus and check out some of the readings, downloadable from that website. See Readings below for recent presentations by leading experimental economists on developing research projects, getting NSF funding, and publishing articles.

In particular, consider TESS, which allows researchers to submit proposals for experiments to be conducted on a nationally-representative, probability-based survey research platform. Successful proposals are fielded at no cost to investigators.

Also, consider attending the WEAI 2017 Graduate Student Workshop.

Also consider the Early-Career Behavioral Economics Conference ECBE Pittsburgh, 16-17 June 2017.

Finally, consider the IFREE Small Grants Program. There are two funding cycles every year, with deadlines on Feb 15 and Aug 15. The IFREE Small Grants Program provides funding of up to $10,000 for research projects that are consistent with IFREE’s Mission Statement and IFREE’s “principles of belief.”

Workshop Spring 2017: Meeting time: Wednesdays 10:40AM-11:45PM in the main conference room 499 E2.


Presentation Schedule Spring 2017
Date, Presenter, Topic
April 5 - Organizational Meeting
April 12 - Peter Towbin, probability weighting
April 19 - Brit Grosskopf, TBA
April 26 - Sameh Habib, Variants of Risk Elicition
May 3 - Gene, TBA
May 10 - Dan Friedman, Deconstructing Monty Hall
May 17 - Brett Williams (TBA) + [open]
May 24 - Kristian Lopez Vargas, TBA
May 31 - Luka, TBA
June 7 - [open]

Email List - cut and paste the following names into your email.
"Dan" <dan@ucsc.edu>, "Kristian Lopez Vargas" <klopezva@ucsc.edu>, "Natalia Lazzati" <nlazzati@ucsc.edu>, "Liam Rose" <lrose1@ucsc.edu>, "Sameh Habib" <sfhabib85@gmail.com>, "Peter Towbin" <ptowbin@ucsc.edu>, "Fernando Chertman" <fchertma@ucsc.edu>, "Jijian Fan" <jifan@ucsc.edu>, "Andrew Barber" <abarber1@ucsc.edu>, "Gene Lieb" <genelieb@lieb.com>, "Christina Louie" <clouie1@ucsc.edu>, "DJ" <dajeong@ucsc.edu>, "Brian Giera" <bgiera@ucsc.edu>, "Natalia Lazzati" <nlazzati@ucsc.edu>, "Zhaoqi Wang" <zwang153@ucsc.edu>, "Shuchen Zhao" <szhao19@ucsc.edu>, "Daniel Oliver" <damolive@ucsc.edu>, "Bryan Pratt" <brpratt@ucsc.edu>, "Royana Anand" <roanand@ucsc.edu>, "Pablo Viotti" <pjviotti@gmail.com>, "Justin Rietz" <justinrietz@gmail.com>, "Luka Kocic" <lkocic@ucsc.edu>, "David Sungho Park" <davidspark@ucsc.edu>, "Brett Williams" < bwillia4@ucsc.edu>, "Vinicius Brandi" < vbrandi@ucsc.edu>,


2016-02-01 - For those on the job market and considering options in industry, Should Your Tech Firm Have an Economist? by Jed Kolko of Trulia. Here's Susan Athey's take.


previous terms..

Presentation Schedule Winter 2017
Date - Presenter - Topic
Jan 18 - Kevin McLaughlin, Pandora experiments in industry
Jan 25 - Kristian- face reading software demo
Feb 1- Dan - choice and tatonnement
Feb 8 - Sameh, Dan- Varieties of Risk Elicitation
Feb 15 - Jijian - Lab Experiments in Corruption
Feb 22 - Fernando and Luka- Evolution of Returns Cov; Cycles of Poverty in Lab
March 1- Kristian - Demand for emotional expression
Mar 8 - Peter - Group Polarization
Mar 15- Shuchen - methods TBA
Mar 21- who - finals week



Presentation Schedule Fall 2016
Date - Presenter - Topic
Sept 28 - Sameh + Dan F- risk pref elicit pilots
Oct 5 - Sameh + Brian G Field experiment on myopic loss aversion
Oct 12 - Bryan P - Conservation messaging at UCSC
Oct 19 - Brian G- Reinvestment puzzle
Oct 26 - Dan O - Peer effects in the field
Nov 2 - Taki Hirakawa- Field experiments in charitable giving
Nov 9 - Anna Sophia Vogt - The strategic value of emotion
Nov 16 - Sameh; Zhaoqi new idea; literature on time discounting
Nov 23 ? - who - thanksgiving week
Nov 30 - Peter Towbin - probability weighting
Dec 7 - who - finals week



Presentation Schedule Spring 2016
Date - Presenter - Topic
April 6 - Peter Towbin and Pablo Viotti (Possibly Curtis) - ...
April 13 - Jijian Fan (Possibly Curtis) - ...
April 20 - Fangfang Tan - Measure for success: Experimental Methods for Ad Effectiveness
April 27 - David Munro (1/2) - ...
May 4 - Matt Baumer (1/2) - ...
May 11 - DJ - ...
May 18 - Kristian Lopez-Vargas - ...
May 25 - Gene Lieb - ...
June 1- Sameh and Brian - Paper title is Myopic Loss Aversion Across Time and Space: Evidence from a Field Experiment with Ethiopian Micro-Enterprises
June 8 - X - Finals Week



Readings // // e-metricsTOC // All // croson // j-eds-on-pub // nlutz // tess //